Purity iframe

Purity iframe

Purity is like
a diamond’s

Purity, also called clarity, describes both the natural birthmarks that are formed within the diamond and its surface imperfections that were not or could not be polished away as nature transformed it from a lump of carbon into a magnificent crystal.

Think of purity as a diamond’s fingerprint. Every Devotion diamond is unique and can be identified by its natural markings. At Devotion, you will see diamonds under a high-powered microscope so that you are confident in identifying the markings that are invisible to the unaided eye.

Greater purity doesn’t mean greater beauty
We do not, however, recommend basing your purchasing decision on what you see under the microscope. There are other characteristics that play an even more important role in a Devotion diamond’s beauty. We will show you hand-selected diamonds placed side-by-side to the highest purity available. In most cases, you will not see any difference, even when examined at very close range without magnification.

In most cases choosing the flawless grade (the highest clarity grade, but extraordinarily rare) will not get you the most beautiful diamond for your budget. This is fundamental at Devotion, where we strive to provide the best value diamond for each customer.

How purity is measured

Gemologists observe the size, location, quantity, type, and prominence of these markings (called inclusions) in accordance with the Gemological Institute of America’s (GIA) precise set of rules and standards in determining a clarity grade. In addition to internal inclusions, inclusions on the surface, called blemishes, are graded by the gemologist.

There are 11 “grades” in the GIA clarity (purity) scale. As a general rule of thumb, purity grades do not determine the diamond’s beauty. The purpose of the grades is to group the diamond according to its rarity. These are, in order:


Flawless (FL)
Internally Flawless (IF)
Very Very Slightly Included (VVS1)
Very Very Slightly Included (VVS2)
Very Slightly Imperfect Included (VS1)
Very Slightly Included (VS2)
Slightly Imperfect Included (SI1)
Slightly Included (SI2)
Included (I1)
Included (I2)
Included (I3)

Devotion does not recommend the very top grades (F, IF, VVS1 and VVS2) in most circumstances, because their rarity won’t make the diamond look more beautiful or “clearer” than less rare grades. We most often recommend VS2, SI1 and SI2 grades, because when compared next to the rarest grades you cannot see a difference in the “clearness” of the diamond.

You will be surprised at how Devotion’s diamonds appear “clearer” than others with the same grade using GIA’s guidelines and parameters, especially compared to ones sold online.